The figures of 26 and seven episodes refer to different things. Toei Animation reorganized its ongoing One Piece anime to release up to 26 new episodes per year, split into two broadcast blocks. THE ONE PIECE, animated by WIT Studio, is a separate adaptation of the manga: Netflix has announced seven episodes for its first season, scheduled to premiere in February 2027.
Toei has therefore not announced that its series will end after 26 episodes, and Netflix has not said that the entire remake will consist of only seven episodes or that seven will be released every year. One figure describes an annual production and broadcast cap; the other describes the size of a particular first batch.
Toei’s anime vs. Netflix’s remake: what the announcements actually count
| Criterion | One Piece, Toei anime | THE ONE PIECE, remake |
|---|---|---|
| Animation production | Toei Animation | WIT Studio, working with other companies associated with the franchise, including Toei |
| Story | Continuation of the anime launched in 1999; the Elbaph arc in 2026 | A new adaptation starting from manga chapter 1 in the East Blue saga |
| Announced episode count | Up to approximately 26 new episodes each year, across two cours | Seven episodes in Season 1; not an annual quota |
| Distribution | Japanese broadcast on Fuji TV; streaming availability varies by territory | Announced batch set for release on Netflix |
| Confirmed timing | Elbaph began April 5, 2026, following a January-to-March break | February 2027, with all seven episodes released together |
| Manga material | Continues into Elbaph; the annual announcement does not specify a chapter count | Roughly the first 50 chapters, up to Luffy meeting Sanji at the Baratie |
| Runtime and future | 26 is an annual cap, not the total length of the series; two-block plan | About 300 minutes combined; no detailed schedule for later seasons |
Why did Toei change the schedule in 2026?
In a 2025 announcement, Toei explained that it was moving away from its nearly continuous production and broadcast pattern to adopt two cours each year. A cour is an anime programming block, typically associated with part of a broadcast season. The new structure was presented as a cap of approximately 26 new episodes per year, not a final 26-episode season.
According to producer Ryuta Koike, the aim is to improve how the anime follows the content, rhythm, and pacing of Eiichiro Oda’s manga while taking advantage of what animation can do. His comments do not set a fixed number of manga chapters per episode, promise to remove all anime-original material, or attribute the change to a specific budget.
After a break from January through March 2026, the Elbaph arc began airing in Japan on April 5. Toei confirmed the return of weekly episodes during that period. This does not mean new episodes will air every week of the year, since the announced plan consists of two blocks.
Why does THE ONE PIECE Season 1 have seven episodes?
THE ONE PIECE starts the story again in East Blue. WIT Studio handles the animation, with companies including Shueisha, Fuji Television, and Toei Animation involved in the project. That collaboration does not make the remake another season of the ongoing anime.
Netflix says the first season will contain seven episodes totaling approximately 300 minutes and adapt roughly the first 50 chapters of the manga. The announced story reaches Luffy’s meeting with Sanji at the floating restaurant Baratie. It would therefore be inaccurate to describe those seven episodes as a complete adaptation of the entire East Blue saga.
All seven episodes are scheduled to arrive together in February 2027. That is the first announced batch, not a rule of seven episodes per year. As of the October 23, 2026 fact-check, the official sources consulted did not specify the total number of future seasons or an annual release pattern for the remake.
Does the new schedule mean the remake is replacing the original anime?
No. The announcements describe two parallel productions with different animation teams and places in the story. Toei’s anime continues the Straw Hats’ journey into later arcs; WIT Studio revisits the beginning of the same work in a new adaptation. These statements did not announce that THE ONE PIECE would cancel or replace the ongoing television production.
It is also misleading to compare adaptation speed from episode counts alone. In the remake, seven installments add up to approximately 300 minutes; for Toei’s anime, 26 is an annual cap on new episodes. These measurements cover different periods and purposes, and neither announcement alone establishes that one version will be better or more faithful.
What is confirmed for 2026 and 2027?
For Toei, the confirmed points are a two-cour annual format and the Japanese return with Elbaph on April 5, 2026. For THE ONE PIECE, the announcements identify WIT Studio as the animation studio, seven episodes covering around 50 chapters, a combined runtime of roughly 300 minutes, and the batch’s Netflix launch in February 2027.
The Netflix pages do not specify the exact February 2027 release date and time or a timetable for subsequent batches. A worldwide release announcement does not, by itself, state the precise availability time for viewers in Brazil. The practical distinction is straightforward: up to 26 a year applies to the ongoing anime; seven applies only to the remake’s first season.





